Why I Vote


It’s voting time again.

Colleen at Chasing Ray and others are asking litbloggers to say why they vote. You can take a look to see the posts that are already up.

I blogged about this in 2008, as well. Going to vote while in labor with my son and suffering from undiagnosed appendicitis was the most dramatic story I had, at least until I had a daughter needed a liver transplant before her first birthday. But that isn’t really a why.

I vote for noble reasons: because people have worked and suffered over centuries for the right to vote. I vote for the people around the world who still risk death to vote. I vote because even if democracy isn’t perfect, it’s the best thing we’ve hit on so far, and a democracy where people don’t vote, isn’t. I vote so that my kids can see me take an active role in our government and believe that one person can make a difference.

And I vote for more petty reasons: I vote for the right to complain to whoever wins afterwards, whether or not I voted for them, and because I don’t want my next-door-neighbors, with their odious signs and bumper stickers, to have the last word on the matter. I vote so that I can remind people at the library where I work to vote, just by wearing my “I voted” sticker.

I’ve gone through Vote411 and local papers, and put together my list. My son, who turns eight today, will be at school when I go to vote on Tuesday, but I’ll bring my daughter’s tricycle so she can zoom around the school gym that’s my polling station while I’m waiting in line and filling out the ballot.

About a library mama

I'm a librarian and book worm who believes that children and adults deserve great books to read.
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I Vote

  1. Alex Baugh says:

    I agree with you completely – democracy isn’t perfect but it is the best there is. And I also think it is a work in progress (think amendments) so it can get better and better.

  2. joyweesemoll says:

    Good thoughts as we go into these last few days before the election.

Leave a Reply

